about CDU
IT Code Fair



Charles Darwin University’s IT Code Fair provides an opportunity to encourage and advocate students’ talent showcasing their work more broadly to the University and industry communities. This annual event contributes to promote awareness of education and training in Information Technology to local Middle and High School students including female and indigenous communities.

Series of


Workshop provides a hands-on experience on how to protect yourself digitally.We needs more kids to select cyber security as a career.Our workshop is tailored around the current themes for digitally engaged kids.


Solve a real-life problem related to a local business issue. Create/develop a working prototype (code) AND/OR or a concept ( Powerpoint or Poster) for solving the problem. Communicate to a panel of judges in a 5-minute presentation.


Coding competition provides students of various levels a great opportunity to showcase their talent in programming. Similarly, creative designers use the poster competition to enhance their creativity.

Be a part of
code fair!

Happy Coding
November 13, 2020
8:30 am - 9:00 am


Participants and Guests arrive

9:00 am - 9:05 am

Welcome and Housekeeping by MC

9:05 am - 9:10 am

Welcome to the Country

9:10 am - 9:15 am

Opening Speech by CDU Vice-Chancellor

9:15 am - 9:20 am

Video Presentation about IT CodeFair

9:20 am - 9:40 am

Academic Excellence Award Presentation by Kathleen Robinson

1. Jani Petteri Junno
2. Abhijith Reddy Beeravolu
3. Zachary Daniel Saynor
4. Yuva Sree Alturi
5. Gary Leigh
6. Alistair Holzberger
7. Chrishan Dhanushka Peiris
8. Suraj Gurung
9. Hardik Thaker
10. Harshitha Acha
11. Jiayi Dai
12. Kam Hung Kuo
13. Menuka Rai
14. Reema Bali
15. Nathan Wilson
16. Sachin Malik
17. Shaakya Weerasudera
18. Augustine Joel Thorbjornsen
19. Zephyr Eecen Dobson
20. Declan Smyth

9:40 am - 9:45 am

Ex-CodeFair alumni to talk about his/her experience.

9:45 am - 10:00 am

First Keynote Speaker

Krishan Maheson (Digital Innovation Manager - City of Darwin)

10:00 am - 10:15 am

Second Keynote Speaker


10:15 am - 10:25 am

Judge Briefing and marking sheet handouts

10:25 am - 10:35 am

Morning Tea

10:35 am - 12:15 pm

Coding and poster presentation and People's Choice Award voting

Results are to be handed over to at the reception desk

12:15 pm - 1:00 pm


12:55 pm - 1:10 pm

Announcement to assemble in Ballroom

1:10 pm - 1:15 pm

Announcement about Cybersecurity Scholarship recipients

1:15 pm - 1:35 pm

Award Distribution

Codefair Ambassadors Certificates
1. Mayra Dwight
2. Shradha Pandey
3. Mohammad Taifur Rahman
Code Fair Competitions Awards Presentation
1. Cyber Security Challenge, Runner Up & Winner
2. Poster Competition, Runner Up & Winner
3. Developing Coders, Runner Up & Winner
4. Capable Coders, Runner Up & Winner
5. Proficient Coders, Runner Up & Winner
6. Ada Lovelace Award
7. Digital Experience Award
8. Best Environmental Application Award
9. Business Innovation Challenge, Runner Up & Winner
10. Coding Innovation Award.
11. People's Choice Award
ANNOUNCEMENT of the 4 Outstanding Entrants

1:35 pm - 1:45 pm

Token of appreciation to sponsors

Token will be distributed by Prof Robert Fitzgerald

1:45 pm - 1:50 pm

Vote of Thanks

Vote of thanks to sponsors and others by Prof Robert Fitzgerald

1:50 pm - 1:55 pm

Closing Speech

1:55 pm - 2:00 pm

Word of Thanks

Word fo Thanks by Prof David Young

2:00 pm - 2:15 pm

Afternoon Tea

2:15 pm - 3:30 pm

Employer Speed Dating

Are you ready for the code fair?

CDU CodeFair will start in…


Special thanks to
our 2020 sponsors

Platinum Sponsors
Silver sponsors

bronze sponsors


DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Esplanade Darwin (116 Esplanade, Darwin City)

See you there!